The notion of self-regulated learning refers to teaching practices that include a goal of helping students learn how to learn, in other words to take ownership of their learning; it includes the cognitive, metacognitive, behavioral, motivational, and emotional/affective aspects of learning. This special issue of the Journal of Teaching and Learning with Technology focuses on the promotion of self-regulated learning supported by the learning management system (LMS).

We are pleased to have had the opportunity to collaborate on this issue with Robin K. Morgan, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Institute for Learning and Teaching Excellence at Indiana Univeristy Southeast, and Julie Saam, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Director of the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment, Professor of Education at Indiana University Kokomo. We also thank the invited reviewers who shared their expertise and insights with the authors and editorial team. The 12 essays in this issue were selected from 38 proposals. The rigorous process of selection included a desk review of the proposals by the editorial team and blind review of invited manuscripts. Together the articles share avenues for ongoing, deepening understanding of the technology-classroom connections that faculty and students encounter every day. We thank our authors for their dedication to a scholarly approach to pedagogical innovation and their commitment to our students and their learning.

Michael Morrone,

Christopher J. Young
Managing Editor

Robin K. Morgan
Guest Editor

Julie Saam
Guest Editor



Sumreen Asim, Indiana University Southeast

Angela Benson, University of Alabama

William Cain, University of Wyoming

Joseph Rene Corbeil, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Erick Dubuque, University of Louisville

Steve Katsikas, Spalding University

Gina Londino-Smolar, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis

Adam Maksl, Indiana University Southeast

Jean Mandernach, Grand Canyon University

Michelle Miller, Northern Arizona University

Ben Motz, Indiana University

Mimi O’Malley, Spalding University

Sridhar Ramachandran, Indiana University Southeast

Christian Rogers, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis

Jeanne Slattery, Clarion University

Melinda Stanley, Indiana University Kokomo

Michael Stevenson, University of Southern Maine

Megan Sumeracki, Rhode Island College

Rachelle Tannenbaum, Anne Arundel Community College

Karen Vignare, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities

Published: 2020-09-02