Letter from the President

The Indiana University Librarians Association (InULA) exists to serve I.U. librarians at all libraries in the I.U. system. It offers a range of professional support, from scholarships for SLIS students, to Research Incentive grants aimed at furthering librarians' research projects, to Professional Development grants that help fund continuing education programs for librarians and library staff. All of this support comes from you -- from your dues, your participation in the annual book sale, and your generous contributions. The Board would like to express its gratitude to all of you who have supported InULA this year. To those of you who donated this year to the InULA Anniversary Fund, a note of thanks for the future as well: with your help the fund is growing, and provides an important source of additional aid for InULA initiatives.

So far this year InULA has awarded three Research Incentive grants for a total amount of \$1,830, as well as two Professional Development grants for a total of \$475. InULA also awarded a \$1,000 scholarship to IUPUI SLIS student Sharon Griffith. Ms. Griffith's winning statement of her philosophy of librarianship and her career goals is included in this issue of InULA Notes.

InULA's book sale this year, held at the beginning of National Library Week, was a great success, reaping a record profit. Thanks go to co-chairs Larry Griffin and David Frasier for all the work they put into organizing the event, and to all of you who gave of your time and energy to make this the best sale yet!

Other committees have been equally hard at work. The Social and Program Committee chaired by Sylvia Turchyn organized a holiday lunch in Bloomington, with a presentation by B.J. Irvine about her experiences with Chinese university libraries. The Committee is currently planning a spring lunch and program to take place at a northern tier campus. Committee members suggest that next fall's membership meeting might be held again in Indianapolis, following the precedent of this year's meeting, at which Fran Brahmi, Carole Gall, and Mary Strow gave us fascinating glimpses of librarianship in Kenya, Taiwan, and Australia.

The Professional Development Committee, chaired by Nancy Wootton Colborn, already responsible for making recommendations to the Board concerning applications for Professional Development grants, accepted the added duty this year of reviewing applications for Research Incentive grants. The Committee has responded efficiently and helpfully upon the submission of all applications, and has substantially facilitated the Board's work.

Celestina Wroth and the Communications Committee have been working behind the scenes to bring you InULA Notes. Celestina has also maintained InULA's Web presence, revamping the looks of the site slightly and keeping it up-to-date. Thanks to her you can find the information you need at the click of a mouse.

Anne Haynes is leading the effort of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee to present <u>proposed amendments</u> to these documents. A ballot giving you an opportunity to accept or reject the amendments either in toto or singly will be sent to you along with the ballot for the members of next year's Board. Andrea Morrison, and the Elections Committee that she is chairing, have obtained an excellent <u>slate of candidates for the ballot</u>. While a simple majority of those voting is

needed to elect Board members, a two-thirds majority of the organization's membership is needed to pass amendments. Whether you will be voting yea or nay, please VOTE!

It would not have been such a good year without the hard work and engagement of all Board members. My thanks go to Julie Nilson (Vice-President/President-Elect), Wendell Johnting (Treasurer), Ann Bristow (Secretary), and Jennifer Hehman, Jian Liu, and Moira Smith (Members-at-Large) for their unflagging help and support. It has been a pleasure and an honor to head an organization with so many active and committed members. I am grateful to all of you who have contributed in so many ways to InULA.

Nancy Boerner InULA President email: boerner@indiana.edu

**The InULA Board would like to thank the following members who contributed to the Anniversary Fund this year. Started in honor of InULA's 25th year, we hope the fund will grow to become a major source of support for future InULA projects. Contributions in any amount are welcome!

Ken Balthaser Rita Barsun Nancy Boerner Ann Bristow Nancy Cridland Marion Frank-Wilson Larry Griffin Lois Heiser Elizabeth Johnson Kellie Kaneshiro Mary Krutulis Suzanne Mudge Julie Nilson Ralph Papakhian Carolyn Walters Marie T. Wright