Indiana Historical Society By Christopher B. Coleman

The Indiana Historical Society plans to have a local representative in every county of the state. The work of this representative will be to nominate persons for membership, to serve as a reference for questions that may arise in relation to his county and to make suggestions to the executive committee of the Indiana Historical Society for the general good of the Society. He will be expected to serve as the agency of coöperation, so far as possible, between the state and local historical society.

With the possible exception of one or two years, the state Society has never reached the point of having each of the ninety-two counties of Indiana represented in its membership. It is now making a special effort to attain this goal. In several counties in which there are members, no one has, as yet, accepted the position of representative of the state Society. The plan, therefore, has not been fully worked out.

The following is a list of the present local representatives with counties and places of residence: Hugh Thomas Miller (Bartholomew), Columbus; Adolph Shulz (Brown), Nashville; Mrs. Charles Buckley (Carroll), Delphi; Lavina Knowlton (Cass), Logansport; Cornelius O'Brien (Dearborn), Lawrenceburg; L. A. Pittenger (Delaware), Muncie; Rev. Basil Heusler (Dubois), Jasper; Willard H. Smith (Elkhart), Goshen; John P. Goodwin (Franklin), Brookville; John F. Mitchell Jr. (Hancock), Greenfield; Thomas J. Wilson (Harrison), Corydon; Roscoe R. Leak (Hendricks), Lizton; Milo (Huntington), Huntington; Gale Smith Feightner (Jasper), Rensselaer; James Walter Fiers (Jay), Redkey; Herriott C. Palmer (Johnson), Franklin; Curtis G. Shake (Knox), Vincennes; Harriet D. Frazer (Koscuskio), Warsaw; William J. Hamilton (Lake), Gary; Eva DeBruler (Madison), Anderson; Susan Brooks (Martin), Shoals; Julia LeClerc Knox (Montgomery), Crawfordsville; Dr. R. W. Terhune (Morgan), Martinsville; Arthur G. Mitten (Newton), Goodland; Mrs. Leland F. Frurip (Noble), Kendallville; Ura Sanders (Owen), Gosport; Charles D. Schreiber (Perry), Tell City; M. McC. Stoops (Pike), Petersburg; John A. Hillenbrand (Ripley), Batesville; Otto M. Knoblock (St. Joseph),

South Bend; Permelia Boyd (Scott), Scottsburg; Rev. Cyril Gaul (Spencer), St. Meinrad; Clyde C. Carlin (Steuben), Angola; Dr. William M. Reser (Tippecanoe), Lafayette; Daniel W. Snepp (Vanderburg), Evansville; Fred E. Brengle (Vigo), Terre Haute; Otho Winger (Wabash), North Manchester; Roscoe Kiper (Warrick), Boonville; Mrs. Harvey Morris (Washington), Salem; Luther M. Feeger (Wayne), Richmond.

The latest publication of the Historical Society is Early Architects and Builders of Indiana by Lee Burns, Volume XI, Number 3 of the Publications. Mr. Burns' article gives short sketches of the most important of the early architects and builders of the state, such as Francis Costigan and William Tinsley. He has brought new light to a number of pieces of information, and many readers of the article will doubtless find in it corrections of the versions they have accepted about the construction of some of the buildings of the state. The publication is illustrated by views of a number of typical buildings while details of certain features of others are presented.