Focus and Scope

African Conflict and Peacebuilding Review (ACPR) is an interdisciplinary forum for creative and rigorous studies of conflict and peace in Africa, and for discussions among scholars, practitioners, and public intellectuals in Africa, the United States, and other parts of the world. ACPR provides a wide range of theoretical, methodological, and empirical perspectives on the causes of conflicts and peace processes including, among others, cultural practices relating to conflict resolution and peacebuilding, legal and political preventative measures, and the intersection of international, regional, and local interests and conceptions with conflict and peace. ACPR is published jointly by the West African Research Association and Indiana University Press. 

ACPR publishes the following kinds of works: i) research articles, ii) briefings, iii) photo essays (i.e. photos plus text), iv) multimedia (i.e. audio and/or video with text), and v) book and film reviews.

Peer Review Process

ACPR is a double-blind peer reviewed journal. All research articles are reviewed by at least two external reviewers. Briefings are reviewed by at least one external reviewer. Photo essays, multimedia works, and book/film reviews are reviewed by the journal editors. In some cases, photo essays and multimedia works can be sent for external review. 

Publication Frequency

ACPR is a semiannual publication (spring and fall).

Journal History

International Editorial Board

Eugenie Aw-Ndiaye, West African Research Center, Dakar, Senegal 

Sandra Barnes, University of Pennsylvania

John Clark, Florida International University

Cheikh Tidiane Gadio, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Senegal

Gladys Ganiel, Trinity College Dublin

Rosalind I. J. Hackett, University of Tennessee

Art Hansen, Clark Atlanta University

Timothy Longman, Boston University 

Daniel Rezene Mekonnen, Tilburg University 

Mechthild Nagel, SUNY Cortland

Stephen Ndegwa, World Bank

Ebenezer Obadare, University of Kansas

Brett O’Bannon, DePauw University

Cyril Obi, Social Science Research Council, New York

Kenneth Omeje, United States International University, Nairobi

Brian Polkinghorn, Salisbury University

Jean-Jacques Sene, Chatham University 

Rebecca Upton, DePauw University

Mats Utas, The Nordic Africa Institute, Sweden

Leonardo Villalón, University of Florida

Peter Anders VonDoepp, University of Vermont 

I. William Zartman, SAIS, Johns Hopkins University